Change the world

Faculty of Engineering, the Built Environment and Information Technology

Dean's Office
Dr Oswald Franks
Dr Oswald Franks
Position: Executive Dean: Faculty of Engineering, Built Environment & Information Technology
Department: Faculty of Engineering, the Built Environment and Information Technology
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3283
Email: Oswald.Franks@mandela.ac.za

Dalenca Pottas
Prof Dalenca Pottas
Position: Acting Deputy Dean: Engineering, the Built Environment and IT
Department: School of Information and Communication Technology
Room: MTLC, R102
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 9100
Fax: 27 41 504 9579
Email: Dalenca.Pottas@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc(Hons)(PU CHE), PhD(RAU), MCSSA
Expertise: Health Informatics

Ms Charlene Dale
Ms Charlene Dale
Position: Executive Secretary
Department: Faculty of Engineering, the Built Environment and Information Technology
Room: C252
Location: North Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 3283
Fax: +27 41 504 9283
Email: charlene.dale@mandela.ac.za

Dr Robert Gerber
Dr Robert Gerber
Position: EBEIT Faculty Operations Manager
Department: Faculty of Engineering, the Built Environment and Information Technology
Room: C250
Location: North Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 3299
Fax: +27 41 504 9283
Email: robert.gerber@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Hons BA; MEd; DTech; HDE
Expertise: Assessment practice, teaching and learning practice, curriculum development, research practice and methodology
Responsibilities: Assist Dean in all operations functions

School of Engineering
Alan Roberts
Mr Alan Roberts
Position: Director
Department: School of Engineering
Room: B01
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3294
Fax: 27 41 504 9294
Email: alan.roberts@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Pr Tech (Eng), M Dip Tech Elec Eng, NH Dip PSE, SMSAIEE, MIEEE

Mr Fanus Grebe
Mr Fanus Grebe
Position: Principal Lecturer
Department: Electrical Engineering
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3519 / 27 (0)83 4525 323
Fax: 27 41 504 9313
Email: fanus.grebe@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MDip Tech Elec Eng. HED Technical (UNISA),Pr Tech(Eng)
Expertise: Digital Systems and Digital Communications

Lizl Blom
Mrs Lizl Blom
Position: Administrative Professional
Department: Electrical Engineering
Room: B003
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3290
Fax: 27 41 504 1973
Email: lizl.blom@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: N Dip HRM (NMMU)

Professor Farouk Smith
Professor Farouk Smith
Position: Head of Department
Department: Mechatronics
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3567
Fax: 27 41 504 9567
Email: farouk.smith@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc (Physics) ; BSc (Elec Eng), MSc (Elec Eng) UCT; PhD (Electronic Eng) Stell.

Mrs Zandra Joubert
Mrs Zandra Joubert
Position: Administrative Professional
Department: Mechatronics
Room: C234
Location: North Campus
Phone: (+27)41 504 3967
Fax: (+27)41 504 9645
Email: zandra.joubert@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BTech Public Relations Management

Mr Gysbert Kleyn
Mr Gysbert Kleyn
Position: Head of Department
Department: Mechanical Engineering
Room: NEB1-125
Location: North Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 3288
Fax: +27 41 504 9288
Email: gysbert.kleyn@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MTech (Mech Eng)

Ms Madelein Brown
Ms Madelein Brown
Position: Administrative Professional
Department: Mechanical Engineering
Room: M144
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3285
Fax: 27 41 504 9285
Email: madelein.brown@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NDip (Management) NMU

Mr Johann van der Merwe
Mr Johann van der Merwe
Position: Head of Department
Department: Civil Engineering
Room: C205
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3309
Fax: 27 41 504 9309
Email: johann.vandermerwe@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: M.Dip.Tech (Civil Eng) (Water)
Expertise: Water Reticulation and Hydraulics

Ms Lizelle Pienaar
Ms Lizelle Pienaar
Position: Administrative Professional
Department: Civil Engineering
Room: C205
Location: North Campus
Phone: +2741 504 3297
Fax: +2741 504 1697
Email: lizelle.pienaar@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BTech (HRM), Assessors Cert.

Dr Ann Lourens
Dr Ann Lourens
Position: Head of Department
Department: Industrial Engineering
Room: M244
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 9124
Qualifications: NH Dip Prod Mgt, MBA(PET), DBA (NMMU) MSAIIE, ASEE

Mrs Nicole Truter
Mrs Nicole Truter
Position: Administrator
Department: Industrial Engineering
Room: C241
Location: North Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 3645
Fax: +27 41 504 9645
Email: nicole.truter@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: National Diploma: Public Relations
Expertise: Public Relations
Responsibilities: Administrative Professional

School of Information and Communication Technology
Sue Petratos
Dr. Sue Petratos
Position: Director of School - School of ICT
Department: School of Information and Communication Technology
Room: R136
Location: North Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 3638
Fax: +27 41 504 9488
Email: sue.petratos@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NDip Comp Dat Proc, NH Dip Computer Systems, MDip Tech IT (PET), PhD (NMMU)

Vuyelwa Ntungela
Ms Vuyelwa Ntungela
Position: Secretary
Department: School of Information and Communication Technology
Room: R136
Location: North Campus
Phone: 0415043278
Fax: 041 504 9832
Email: vuyelwa.ntungela@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BA Degree (Tourism) (UWC)
Responsibilities: Provide receptionist support to the Director as well as general secretarial support to the School of ICT

Karen Church
Ms Karen Church
Position: Head of Department - Information Technology
Department: Information Technology
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3433
Email: Karen.Church@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc (UPE), BSc (Hon) (UPE); MSc (UPE); PMCSSA
Expertise: Programming

Annelise Du Preez
Ms Annelise Du Preez
Position: Acting HOD - Department of Applied Informatics
Department: School of Information and Communication Technology
Location: North Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 3143
Fax: +27 41 504 3313
Email: annelise.duPreez@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: B Com (Ed) (UPE)

Ms Farren Foutie
Ms Farren Foutie
Position: Secretary
Department: School of Information and Communication Technology
Room: R251
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3603
Email: farren.foutie@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Btech:Public Relations Management

School of the Built Environment
Professor Winston Shakantu
Professor Winston Shakantu
Position: Professor
Department: Construction Management
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2394
Fax: 27 41 504 2345
Email: winston.shakantu@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc Building: MSc CM: PhD CM: AEIZ: MCIOB: MSIZ: Pr. CM
Responsibilities: Professor of Construction Management

Mr Wayne Draai
Mr Wayne Draai
Position: Lecturer
Department: Building and Human Settlement Development
Room: C219
Location: North Campus
Phone: 041 504 3076
Fax: 0866752658
Email: wayne.draai@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NDipl Building, NHD Surveying, MDP (Unisa), MSc Built Environment
Expertise: Artisan Competencies in the Building Industry

Mrs Nosipho Sam
Mrs Nosipho Sam
Position: Secretary
Department: Building and Human Settlement Development
Room: C213
Location: North Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 3295
Fax: +27 41 504 3491
Email: nosipho.sam@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NDip: Office Management & Technology
Responsibilities: Secretary

Mr Roy Cumberlege
Mr Roy Cumberlege
Position: Head of Department
Department: Quantity Surveying
Room: C104
Location: North Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 3020
Fax: +27 41 504 9935
Email: roy.cumberlege@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc (QS), MSc (CE), PrQS, PMAQS, MRICS
Expertise: Quantity surveying: construction cost consultant

Ms Louise Engelbrecht
Ms Louise Engelbrecht
Position: Administrative Professional
Department: Quantity Surveying
Room: C104B
Location: North Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 2669
Email: louise.engelbrecht@mandela.ac.za

Mr Brink Botha
Prof Brink Botha
Position: Head of Department
Department: Construction Management
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2085
Fax: 27 41 504 2345
Email: brink.botha@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NDip Building: BTech QS: BTech CM: MSc. BE: Pr. CPM: ICIOB

Mrs Mariana Botes
Mrs Mariana Botes
Position: Secretary
Department: Construction Management
Location: North Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2790
Fax: 27 41 504 2345
Email: mariana.botes@mandela.ac.za
Responsibilities: Office administration