Change the world

Faculty of Engineering, the Built Environment and Information Technology


The NMMU Academic Awards ceremony was held in June at the Boardwalk Convention Conference Centre. Excellence is one of the University’s six values, which we believe is core to achieving our vision of NMMU. We congratulate the following four academic achievers who have made such a wonderful contribution towards this vision:

  • Andries Lotter recieved the First Diploma Award within the Faculty. In 2013, the he graduated with his NDip Information Technology (CUM LAUDE). He achieved a 92.5% average for his 3rd year. In 2012, he did an Internship with KORBITEC and has further developed a good relationship with the company. Based on Andries excellent work, he was awarded a bursary by Korbitec for his BTech.
  • Juan Olwagen was awarded the First Degree Award in the Faculty. Juan graduated with the BSc Construction Economics Cum Laude with an overall average of 85.3%.During Juan studies, he worked for DSE Fabrication Facility (Aveng Grinaker-LTA) and Aveng Grinaker –LTA Coastal as student Quantity Surveyor where he was exposed to a range of quantity surveying activities.
  • Norman Addis received the BTech Deagree Award within the Faculty.Norman graduated with National Diploma in Electrical Engineering cum-laude with 21 distinctions, and with an overall aggregate of 91%. In 2012, Norman graduated with an average of 84% in his BTech year.He is currently on VW’s graduate program and is working in the quality assurance analysis department
  • Marc Hocheuser received the Albert Wessels Trust Award for the Best Master Dissertation. In 2011,he enrolled for MEng: Mechatronics and graduated Cum Laude with an overall average of 92%.Marc has been working at IAV Automotive Engineering GmbH Ingenieurgesellschaft Auto und Verkehr in the Development Powertrain Division since February 2013.